• Play
  • About
  • News
  • Forums
  • Yppedia
  • Help
Welcome Guest   | Login
  Index  | Recent Threads  | Register  | Search  | Help  | RSS feeds  | View Unanswered Threads  
  Search  

Quick Go »
Thread Status: Normal
Total posts in this thread: 12
[Add To My Favorites] [Watch this Thread] [Post new Thread]
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 8078 times and has 11 replies Next Thread
SilveRansom

Silveransom's Egg Rendering Tutorial Reply to this Post

YPP Easter Egg Rendering for Non-Professional Max Users

---Author's Disclaimer:
I write this to help people render Max eggs to test their patterns for Yohoho! Puzzle Pirates' Easter Egg Contest. I'm a professional Max/Maya user, working in the game industry, and am in no way affiliated with Three Rings, the people behind Yohoho! Puzzle Pirates. (Besides being a pirate on Sage and Midnight, and being a fan of the company's work, that is.) I'm just an artist who works in 3D, and who wants to share his experience. So, thanks for reading, and if there are troubles making this work, blame me, not Three Rings.
Also, be warned, this is slightly technical, and pretty long... but it should be equally informative.

This tutorial assumes a few things:
1. You have a computer that can handle 3DStudio Max version 7. (Check here for specs:http://www.microsearch.com/products/show_product.php?idno=20230027)
2. You have already designed your proposed egg graphic, and it's saved in .PNG format, and it meets the specifications for the contest. (See here for the official contest rules and regulations:http://forums.puzzlepirates.com/community/mvnforum/viewthread?thread=58386)
3. You have a working knowledge of how to use Microsoft Windows programs, and understand things like "middle mouse drag" and "Ctrl-S" and "F10".

That said, you're going to need some tools. First, you need 3D Studio Max, version 7. You can get it here:
http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/3D-Studio-Max-Download-15976.html

Note: