• Play
  • About
  • News
  • Forums
  • Yppedia
  • Help
Welcome Guest   | Login
  Index  | Recent Threads  | Register  | Search  | Help  | RSS feeds  | View Unanswered Threads  
  Search  

Quick Go »
Thread Status: Normal
Total posts in this thread: 13
[Add To My Favorites] [Watch this Thread] [Post new Thread]
Author
Previous Thread This topic has been viewed 995 times and has 12 replies Next Thread
Msmyers

Global and trade chat Reply to this Post

We've had some issues regarding proper use of the trade chat channel on Emerald lately. When Hera intervened in a flame war conducted there a week ago, she directed pirates to use /global. This was the first time I had heard of this channel.
I have been playing YPP for almost 13 years, on and off. I know I'm not the only pirate who is/was completely unaware that global chat exists. In searching the forums, I saw that Opsat wrote in another thread:

I realized that it might be better if the default is global chat on and trade chat off, instead of the other way around.

Is there any way this can be implemented? Or at least have a more obvious way to inform players (particularly returning ones) that global exists, other than wading through potentially YEARS of changenotes?

Thanks for your consideration of this!
----------------------------------------
~Msmyers, everywhere
[Jun 25, 2018 9:07:49 PM] Show Printable Version of Post        Send Private Message [Link]  Go to top 
Ghostbeardz1

Re: Global and trade chat Reply to this Post

Yayyyy, Wonderful Forum Proposal!

Ghostbeards votes Yes! & Aye! for automatic /global-on default. There be a lot of new & returning pirates who experience surprise when they first hear /global exists. Brainstorming friendly ways to help spread & increase /global accessibility is a very worthy cause. Really wonderful /global post, Msmyers!

Three Cheers for this proposal!
Ghostbeards of Emerald
Senior Officer of The Royal United Navy